Braised Red Cabbage

Not sure where this recipe came from.  It is not mine (though I wish I could take credit).  Everyone I’ve served it to (and I’ve served it a lot) loves it.  Perfect for this time of year.  Enjoy. 

¼ c. butter
1 2-lb red cabbage, very thinly sliced (about 14 cups)
½ tsp. (or more) of salt
3 T. dry red wine (or hard apple cider)
1 T. red wine vinegar (or cider vinegar)

Melt butter in heavy large pot (I use a dutch oven) over medium heat. Add sliced cabbage and ½ tsp. salt. Stir and toss continuously until cabbage begins to wilt, about 7 minutes. Add red wine and saute until liquid evaporates, about 10 minutes. Add vinegar; stir constantly until cabbage is tender and turns a bright fuchsia color, about 13 minutes longer. (Note: I start tasting for doneness after 7 minutes or so.) Taste and adjust seasonings.

Note: May be prepared up to one day ahead. Cool slightly, cover, and refrigerate. Rewarm, stirring over medium heat, before serving.

Comments Off on Braised Red Cabbage

Filed under Recipes

Comments are closed.