Vegetables on My Mind

I’ve been thinking a lot about vegetables.  A lot. For months it seems.  And I am not the only one.  Vegetables seem to be finding their way into a new prominence among foodies.  We’re coming at them from different directions: Concerns about health, the allocation of resources, the efficacy and neutrality of our government’s food policy, the morality of animal factory farms, and even our renewed interest in gardening– all seem to propel us back to the vegetable patch (figuratively, if not literally).  I’ve been researching recipes, visiting restaurants where vegetables are prominent.  I’ve been experimenting, pulling vegetables to the center of my eating.  Below is a list of books, media, and places that have recently furthered this obsession.  Look them up. Check out their menus, their recipes, their ideas.  And if you are inspired to think a little more about vegetables yourself, it can only be a good thing, right?


  • Cru, in Silverlake, Los Angeles, CA
  • Elf Café, in Echo Park, Los Angeles, CA
  • Ferry Building Marketplace, San Francisco, CA
  • Food Matters, by Mark Bittman (Simon & Schuster, 2008)
  • Plenty,  by Yotam Ottolenghi (Chronicle Books, LLC, 2011)
  • Seva Restaurant, in Ann Arbor, MI
  • The Splendid Table, American Public Media. Radio.

Comments Off on Vegetables on My Mind

Filed under Inspiration

Comments are closed.